ENGLISH

  Avalon Historico-Geographical Society
main / projects / current / Ecotourism in Central Kazakhstan - GEF/UNDP SGP project, 2nd phase / Exploration of Ortau mountain oasis
 


EXPLORATION OF ORTAU MOUNTAIN OASIS

 

In the end of October 2013 joint team of Avalon PF and Nomadic Travel Kazakhstan company explored the mountain oasis of Ortau with respect to the possibility of ecological tourism development in its territory in the framework of the project by GEF/UNDP SGP.

Ortau, being one of the many mountain oases of Sary-Arka (Kazakh Uplands), is located within 30 km to the west from Agadyr railway station in Karaganda region. Its broken mountain slopes rise 300 metres above the surrounding steppes, while the highest point of the Ortau mountains is 1068 metres above sea level.

The oasis and its vicinities are attractive from a variety of angles. Famous for its beauty is Zhetykazan place where a traveler may see a cascade of seven small mountain lakes. Ortau is habitat of argali and roe deer. More than 30 plant species grow here, 5 of them endemic and 11 endangered, including the famous Shrenki Tulip. In the mountain ranges vicinity archaeological monuments dating back to the Bronze and early Iron age are located, namely numerous burial mounds and sepulchers. In the neighborhood of Ortau one may also find the ruins of Aktau fortification, a historical monument of the first half of the XIX century.

In the course of meetings held during the trip the team and local residents discussed the questions concerned with guest-houses organization, working out and realization of travel routes. Just as before, we consider Ortau one of the most promising places for ecological and community-based tourism development in Central Kazakhstan and will try to search for opportunities of working in this direction.

We are planning to develop tourism on the basis of our long-term experience of working in Shabanbai Bi village (Kyzylarai mountain oasis).

Photo: Alexandr Yermolyonok

 


© 'AVALON' HGS PA, 2005-2017
Reprint of information is permitted with specifying the source only

РУССКИЙ
ENGLISH

  Историко-географическое общество "АВАЛОН"
начало / проекты / текущие / Экотуризм в Центральном Казахстане - проект ПМГ ГЭФ/ПРООН, 2 этап / Разведка горного оазиса Ортау
 


РАЗВЕДКА ГОРНОГО ОАЗИСА ОРТАУ

 

В конце октября 2013 года команда ОФ "Авалон" и компании "Nomadic Travel Kazakhstan", в рамках проекта ПМГ ГЭФ/ПРООН, осуществила разведку горного оазиса Ортау на предмет возможности развития на его территории экологического туризма.

Ортау, один из множества горных оазисов Сары-Арки (Казахского мелкосопочника) располагается в 30 с лишним километрах к западу от железнодорожной станции Агадырь в Карагандинской области. Его изрезанные скальные склоны возвышаются над окружающей степью на 300 с небольшим метров, а наивысшая точка Ортауских гор имеет высоту 1068 метров над уровнем моря.

Оазис и окружающие его земли интересны с различных точек зрения. Своей красотой славится урочище Жетыказан, где глазам путешественника предстанет каскад из семи небольших скальных озерков. Ортау является местом обитания архаров и косуль. Здесь произрастает около 30 видов флоры, в том числе 5 эндемичных и 11 исчезающих, включая, в частности, и знаменитый тюльпан Шренка. В окрестностях горного массива находятся археологические памятники эпохи бронзы и раннего железного века: многочисленные курганы и могильники. В непосредственной близости к Ортау располагаются и руины Актауского укрепления, памятника истории первой половины XIX века.

В ходе встреч с местными жителями обсуждались вопросы организации гостевых домов, разработки и реализации туристских маршрутов. Как и прежде, мы считаем Ортау одним из наиболее перспективных мест в Центральном Казахстане для развития экологического туризма, основанного на сообществах, и будем пытаться изыскивать возможности для работы в данном направлении.

Деятельность по развитию туризма планируется осуществлять, основываясь на нашем многолетнем опыте работы в селе Шабанбай Би (горный оазис Кызыларай).

Фото: Александр Ермолёнок


©ОО ИГО 'АВАЛОН', 2005-2016
Перепечатка материала - только с указанием источника