Avalon Historico-Geographical Society
main / projects / embodied / 'Nepal 2004' expedition
 

THE LAND OF NONRANDOM MEETINGS
OR rINGED BY aNNAPURNA

Chapter 1. LONG WAY TO KATHMANDU
Chapter 2.
KATHMANDU AND ITS PEOPLE
Chapter 3.
JOURNEY FROM SUMMER TO WINTER
Chapter 4.
BETWEEN TWO SUMMITS
Chapter 5. SLEEPY PARADISE
Chapter 6.
MOVABLE FEAST
Chapter 7.
ACROSS THE HALF OF THE WORLD IN SIX DAYS


chapter 7. ACROSS THE HALF OF THE WORLD IN SIX DAYS

To tell you the truth, right after the descent from Thorung La the whole our way was mostly taking for coming back home. But only after the farewell party with Pasha and Yulia was over and the belongings were packed in backpacks for the hundredth time, long and tiresome movement across the climatic and time zones, across countries, grounds and air, the movement that lasted not more or less but 6 days had begun.

Early in the morning on Thursday we started to walk to the station. Then was the whole day bus driving down to Bhairawa. Had spent a night on Nepal territory for the last time, again in the same hotel Ashoka, we intersected the frontier with India before lunchtime next day. And without problems we got to Gorakhpur. But in Gorakhpur after two hours standing in a queue to the booking-office entitled for foreigners and women (where mostly were local men) we found out that the tickets of the second class to Delhi had been sold out. As far as all our money was not enough to buy even a half of a ticket of the first class we had the only way out to take a bus.

Buses surely can be late everywhere somewhere in France and in India as well. The difference is only in duration of this lateness. Though Im not intended to consider thirty six hours instead of twenty hours as a lateness. Thats not a delay already, thats just an insult, which nearly turned out into missing our flight. Fortunately, after spending a day and a half in the worst and overcrowded bus we got to Delhi, though it could be hardly believed in. And what was going on during these 36 hours I even didnt want to remember. There is hardly 800 kilometers between Gorakhpur and Delhi. To drive this distance for 20 hours is already rotten act, not speaking about the time we spent driving. There was the feeling of complete powerlessness, taking into consideration that we had only 14 dollars for both of us. As a result we got to Delhi three hours earlier the registration to our flight started at the airport. But we were supposed to spend the whole day in the capital. To tell you the truth, I dont feel pity that we didnt have chance to see Delhi properly. I just regret the nerves we had spent while our trip to Delhi. There was no inclination to think about the situation if we would be late for the flight.

So speaking in general, Id say so: love for India has died even before having started. And the matter is not about dirtiness (I myself is not really neat, especially while traveling). The matter is probably in religion. As I was several times told, there were two ways of comprehension of the God in Hinduism. One is climbing up when the person tries hard, work and in this way he grasps the God, and the second one is lowering when the person just does nothing, bagging for instance, and then probably the God will go down to him. I had an impression that the biggest part of the citizens of India had chosen the second way. On me personally, the Hindus made an impression of degenerating and dieing upon your eyes nation. The cripple, the sick there are so many of them...

Ive heard that very few people can have India imprinted itself on their soul from the first time. But I doubt, whether it will happen with me at all. Now Ill never believe in saying that India is a very marvelous country. I have been there, Ive seen and smelled this all. Its possible that there is another India, India of five stared hotels and private closed beaches, but it is already not India. We saw the country like what it really was.

At Delhi airport we didnt manage to eat properly. At the international (!!!) airport there was only vegetarian food. And left rupees we had to spend on different junk, which wasnt enough to feel satisfied at all. Decent food we found only in Almaty. As far as on board of the flight we were not given anything nutritious and in Ashgabad airport with the money we had we could buy only mineral water at the transit hall.

But then in Almaty at the railway station what greediness we were eating belyashi with, the ones that didnt contain meat almost at all, but only onion. But that onion at least smelled like meat. Well, the influence of the vegetarian diet of these several days was easily noticeable.

Then there was coming back by train Almaty Karaganda, the conductor who couldnt understand why we stubbornly kept refusing to take beddings, explaining that we had no money. Therefore we had a big bag full of beer. That was very difficult to explain her that we really had no money left even to pay fee in the bus. As straight away after arriving in Almaty the decision to buy something to eat and to grab beer for the rest of the left money had been made. Moreover, the beer had more than symbolical name Tien Shan heavenly mountains.

During the whole our way home Dima and I were sharing impressions about the trip with each other, and of course, were making plans for future. The future which will be ever after connected with Nepal


Nepal is the country of the highest mountains in the world. Having seen these mountains, youll definitely have the desire to meet them again. And if you really like snowy peaks and green valleys with all your heart you would love to come back here forever.

Vitaliy Shuptar, 2005
[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7]
 
 

© 'AVALON' HGS PA, 2005-2016
Reprint of information is permitted with specifying the source only

Историко-географическое общество "АВАЛОН"
начало / проекты / реализованные / экспедиция "Непал 2004"
 

ЗЕМЛЯ НЕСЛУЧАЙНЫХ ВСТРЕЧ
ИЛИ ОКОЛЬЦОВАННЫЕ АННАПУРНОЙ


Глава 1. ДОЛГАЯ ДОРОГА ДО КАТМАНДУ
Глава 2. КАТМАНДУ И ЕГО ЛЮДИ
Глава 3. ПУТЕШЕСТВИЕ ИЗ ЛЕТА В ЗИМУ
Глава 4. МЕЖ ДВУХ ВЕРШИН
Глава 5. СОННЫЙ РАЙ
Глава 6. ПРАЗДНИК, КОТОРЫЙ ВСЕГДА С ТОБОЙ
Глава 7. ЧЕРЕЗ ПОЛСВЕТА ЗА ШЕСТЬ ДНЕЙ

Глава 7.  ЧЕРЕЗ ПОЛСВЕТА ЗА ШЕСТЬ ДНЕЙ

Честно говоря, уже после спуска с Торонг Ла, вся наша дорога стала восприниматься большей частью как возвращение домой. Но только после того, как отвальная вечеринка с Пашей и Юлей была закончена, а вещи в сотый раз упакованы в рюкзаки, по-настоящему началось долгое и мучительное передвижение по климатическим зонам, часовым поясам, странам, земле и воздуху, передвижение, длившееся, ни много ни мало, 6 дней.

Рано утром в четверг мы пешком двинули на автовокзал. Потом был целый день дороги автобусом до Бхайравы. Заночевав последний раз на непальской территории, все в том же отеле "Ашока", на следующий день, еще до полудня, мы пересекли границу с Индией. Так же, без проблем, добрались до Горакпура. А в Горакпуре, после двухчасового стояния в очереди в кассу "для иностранцев и женщин" (в которой большинство стоящих были местные мужики) мы выяснили, что билетов второго класса до Дели не осталось. Так как всех наших денег не хватило бы даже на половину одного билета первого класса, то оставался единственный выход - автобус.

Автобусы, конечно, могут опаздывать, причем повсеместно - и где-нибудь во Франции, и в той же Индии. Разница лишь в масштабах этого опоздания. Хотя тридцать шесть часов вместо двадцати я не склонен считать опозданием. Это уже не задержка, это просто натуральное издевательство, которое чуть не обернулось нашим опозданием на самолет. К счастью, после полутора суток в паршивейшем и переполненном автобусе, мы все-таки добрались до Дели, хоть в это и верилось с трудом. А что происходило эти 36 часов и вспоминать не хочется. От Горакпура до Дели едва ли больше 800 километров. И ехать такое расстояние 20 часов это уже свинство. Не говоря уже о том времени, какое ехали мы. Ощущение полного бессилия, учитывая то, что денег у нас оставалось около 14 долларов на двоих. В результате мы приехали в Дели за три часа до начала регистрации на рейс в аэропорту. А должны были бы провести в столице целый день. Но честно говоря, я и не жалею о том, что Дели мы так толком и не увидели. Я жалею лишь о потраченных за время дороги нервах. Не хотелось даже думать о том, что будет, если мы не успеем на рейс.

В общем, я сказал бы так: любовь к Индии, так и не родившись, умерла. И дело тут вовсе не в грязи (я и сам не отличаюсь особой чистоплотностью, особенно в дороге). Все дело, наверное, в религии. Как мне неоднократно объясняли, в индуизме есть два способа постижения бога: восхождение - когда человек старается, работает, растет, и таким образом достигает бога, и снисхождение - когда человек просто ничего не делает, например, бичует, и тогда возможно, бог спустится к нему сам. У меня появилось впечатление, что большая часть населения Индии выбрала именно второй путь. Лично на меня индусы произвели впечатление вырождающейся и просто на глазах умирающей нации. Калеки, немощные, их так много…

Я слышал, что Индия мало кому западает в душу с первого раза. Но честно говоря, не думаю, что это вообще когда-нибудь со мной произойдет. Теперь я уже никогда не поверю в утверждение о том, что Индия - это чудесная страна. Я побывал там, я увидел и понюхал все это. И может быть есть другая Индия, Индия пятизвездочных отелей и платных закрытых пляжей, но это уже не Индия. Мы же увидели страну такой, какая она есть.

В аэропорту Дели мы так и не смогли нормально покушать. В международном (!!!) аэропорту была только вегетарианская еда. И оставшиеся рупии пришлось тратить на всякую бурду, наесться которой было просто невозможно. Нормально поесть получилось только в Алматы. Так как в самолете ничего существенного нам не дали, а в транзитном зале ашгабадского аэропорта мы с нашими деньгами могли купить только минералку.

Зато с какой жадностью мы ели на алматинском вокзале беляши, в которых на самом то деле мяса почти и не было, один только лук. Но у этого лука был хотя бы запах мяса. Да, вегетарианская диета на протяжении этих нескольких дней сделала свое дело.

Потом было возвращение домой в поезде Алматы-Караганда, проводница которого все не могла понять, почему мы упрямо отказываемся брать постельное белье, говоря, что у нас нет денег, тогда как у нас имелся целый пакет с пивом. Очень трудно было объяснить ей, что денег у нас на самом деле не оставалось даже на проезд в автобусе, потому как сразу по приезду в Алматы было принято решение купить поесть, а на все оставшиеся деньги набрать пива. Тем более, что название у пива было более чем символичное - "Тянь-Шань" - небесные горы.

Всю дорогу домой мы с Димкой делились впечатлениями о путешествии и, конечно же, строили планы на будущее. Будущее, которое теперь не в последнюю очередь будет связано с Непалом.

Непал - страна самых высоких на земле гор. Увидев эти горы, ты непременно захочешь встретиться с ними вновь. А если ты на самом деле всем сердцем любишь снежные горные вершины и зеленые речные долины, ты захочешь вернуться сюда навсегда.

© Виталий Шуптар, 2005 год
[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7]
   
   

©ОО ИГО 'АВАЛОН', 2005-2016
Перепечатка материала - только с указанием источника