Avalon Historico-Geographical Society
main / roads / The Time of Jolly Missions, or Combining Business and Pleasure
 

THE TIME OF JOLLY MISSIONS,
OR COMBINING BUSINESS AND PLEASURE


HITCHHIKING TO ULYTAU

(uLYTAU mOUNTAINS)

Ulytau (great mountains from Kazakh) have always been a special place for the Kazakhs. Even the name of these not really high mountains may obviously illustrate this fact. Perhaps, the backgrounds of this love should be sought of in the history of the people which had been in a certain period of time closely connected with Genghis-Khans eldest son Zhoshy-Khan (Juchi-Khan). Having dropped aside any idea of the Kazakh statehood inculcated by the curriculum, one may with great reserve consider Zhoshy the first Kazakh khan, taking into account his unexplainable love to Sary-Arka which was not characteristic of other Mongols.

Molsem cemetery
Moslem cemetery not far from Zhezdy

Besides, the Ulytau mountains, as is accepted at present, are located in the geographic center of Kazakhstan . And, having traveled a lot around the country, we decided at last to get to its center as well. I set off for this trip with Lena .

Zhezkazgan, as any other industrial city, did not delight us at all with its hundred-percent industrial smell, striking the nose once you come off the train. And it is no surprise for since its foundation it represents a huge plant, and absolutely everything here belongs to the metallurgical company Kazakhmys.

What was worse was the news that the bus had left an hour ago and there would not be any regular transport from Zhezkazgan to Ulytau until the evening. Somebody advised us to go to Satpayev by bus, saying that there we should have more chances to leave. But no progress was to be seen in Satpayev as well. Taxi-drivers demanded dearness for their service; besides, we could not find anyone who was going to leave for Ulytau and who could share this onerous burden with us. At the moments like this it occurs to me (whether my anger or my stubbornness is the reason) that we should go ahead. And we did go ahead for the most important thing is to know the direction you are moving in, and this we knew for sure. Variants should appear themselves, on the way to, because the most important is to step foot on the road.

Waiting
Waiting for the next car

But for this wonderful trip and the stupid circumstances that deprived us of the opportunity to get to the place by public transport, I should have never known that classic (I mean free) hitchhiking is quite possible in Kazakhstan in reality. I should still consider that the driver stopping hopes to make some profit from giving a lift to someone. As it turned out, its not that bad.

The first driver who stopped and whose name we had not known drove us some one or two kilometers; but even this was a great distance considering it was our first hitchhiking at the territory of Kazakhstan . Our next fellow-travelers, Zhuldyz (who was driving) and two of her friends Bakhtiyar and Serikkhan brought us the whole thirty kilometers closer to the Ulytau mountains, driving us to the Zhezdy village.

Our next helper Nurike, literally drove the car using only one hand, his other hand holding the glass of fire-water that he thought was necessary to drink to our meeting. Lena stuck to her seat every time he manoeuvred his KAMAZ through the awful road, nearly flying away from it. Nurike was carrying some construction materials to the building site of the century of that time, a monument symbolizing the center of the country and unity of the peoples of Kazakhstan, which was erected on the hill some distance before the Ulytau village.

Mountain picnic
Mountain picnic

It turned out that we got to the Ulytau village only after five in the evening. Having said Good-bye to Nurike we immediately set off to the main mountain. It is believed that on the top of the mountain which is more often called Ulytau a famous person had been buried, though the scientists as well as folk legends disagree with each other. There are some who consider the mountain to be the last refuge of Tokhtamysh-Khan, first the ally, and then the great Tamburlaines most serious enemy. The others believe that there lie the remains of the Nogai Khan Yedyge, one of Tokhtamyshs opponents in the struggle for the power in steppe. However that may be, nowadays on the top of the mountain raises a huge pile of stones which obviously is the tombstone in a way.

Camp
Camp

Of course we arrived at Ulytau much later than it had been planned, that is why we almost did not have any time to climb the mountain. Having decided that mountains do not approve of fuss and hastiness and certainly do not like being moved on at a dark time, we found a suitable place to pitch a camp.

On setting on the tent on a small ground from where it was a stones throw to the Ulytau mountain and which opened a gorgeous view of the valley, we met that warm August night, sitting at the bon-fire and drinking the impressions of our intercourse with nature with the red wine out of a big leather flask.

[0] [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16]

 
 

© 'AVALON' HGS PA, 2005-2016
Reprint of information is permitted with specifying the source only

Историко-географическое общество "АВАЛОН"
начало / дороги / Время нескучных командировок или Совмещая полезное с приятным
 

ВРЕМЯ НЕСКУЧНЫХ КОМАНДИРОВОК
ИЛИ СОВМЕЩАЯ ПОЛЕЗНОЕ С ПРИЯТНЫМ


УЛЫТАУСКИЙ АВТОСТОП

(горы Улытау)

Улытау («великие горы» с казахского) всегда были для казахов местом особенным. Одно уже только название этих, на самом деле совсем невысоких гор, очевидно, хорошо сей факт иллюстрирует. Возможно, истоки этой любви следует искать в истории народа, которая в определенный период была очень плотно связана со старшим сыном Чингиз-хана – ханом Жошы (Джучи), которого, если откинуть все привитые школьной программой понятия о казахской государственности, можно с некоторой натяжкой считать первым казахским ханом, принимая во внимание его непонятную любовь к Сарыарке, которая другим монголам была не очень свойственна.

Мусульманское кладбище
Мусульманское кладбище неподалеку от Жезды

К тому же, горы Улытау, как принято считать в наши дни, находятся в географическом центре Казахстана. И вот, немало поездив за тот год по стране, мы наконец решили добраться и до ее центра. Отправился я в эту поездку вместе с Леной.

Жезказган, как и любой другой промышленный город, совсем не радовал нас своим стопроцентно промышленным запахом, ударяющим с непривычки в нос в то же самое мгновение, когда выходишь из поезда. И неудивительно, ведь город с самого дня своего основания представляет собой один большой завод, и в настоящее время решительно все здесь принадлежит металлургической корпорации «Казахмыс».

Еще меньше обрадовала нас новость о том, что автобус ушел час назад и до самого вечера никакого регулярного транспорта до Улытау из Жезказгана уже не будет. Нам посоветовали добраться на автобусе до Сатпаева, объяснив, что там, якобы, наши шансы становятся выше. Но и в Сатпаеве никакого прогресса не намечалось. Таксисты требовали за свои услуги просто заоблачные деньги, а других желающих ехать в Улытау, с кем бы мы могли разделить сие непосильное бремя, вокруг не наблюдалось. В такие моменты, то ли со злости, то ли от упрямства, у меня обычно появляется мысль: «надо идти вперед». И мы пошли, ведь самое важное - это знать, в каком направлении нужно двигаться, а в этом мы были абсолютно уверены. Ну а варианты должны были появиться сами по себе, уже попутно, ведь главное – это ступить на дорогу.

Ожидание
В ожидании очередной машины

На самом деле, если бы не эта удивительная поездка и не это идиотское стечение обстоятельств, лишившее нас возможности добираться до места общественным транспортом, то я, наверное, так никогда и не узнал бы, что в Казахстане возможен вполне классический (то есть, бесплатный) автостоп. Я все так же продолжал бы считать, что останавливающийся водитель надеется исключительно на материальную выгоду от того, что подвезет голосующего куда-либо. Оказывается, все не так плохо.

Водитель первой остановившейся машины, имени которого мы не узнали, провез нас на каких-то полтора-два километра, но и это было немало, учитывая то, что это был наш первый автостоп по территории Казахстана. Следующие наши попутчики, Жулдыз (которая была за рулем) и два ее друга - Бахтияр и Серикхан, приблизили нас к горам Улытау уже на тридцать километров, довезя до поселка Жезды.

Очередной наш помощник, Нурике, образно выражаясь, вел машину «одной левой», потому что в правой руке он держал стакан с «огненной водой», которую, по его мнению, было просто необходимо выпить в связи с нашим знакомством. Лена вжималась в сидение каждый раз, когда он на своем Камазе маневрировал по ужасного качества дороге, чуть ли не вылетая с нее. Нурике вез какие-то строительные материалы на тогдашнюю «стройку века» - сооружение монумента, символизирующего центр страны и единство народов Казахстана, который возводился на пригорке, немного не доезжая до поселка Улытау.

Горный пикник
Пикник на горе

Так получилось, что в сам поселок Улытау мы попали уже в шестом часу вечера. Распрощавшись с Нурике и не теряя времени, мы сразу же направились к главной горе. Считается, что на вершине горы, которую чаще всего так и называют – Улытау, похоронен кто-то великий, правда ученые, так же как и народные легенды, сильно расходятся во мнениях. Одни считают, что гора стала последним пристанищем для хана Тохтамыша, сначала союзника, а потом самого серьезного противника великого Тамерлана. Другие полагают, что здесь покоится прах ногайского хана Едыге – одного из соперников Тохтамыша в его борьбе за власть в степи. Как бы то ни было, а в наши дни на вершине горы возвышается большая куча камней, очевидно и являющаяся своеобразным надгробием.

Лагерь у подножия Улытау
Лагерь у подножия горы

Конечно, мы приехали в Улытау намного позже, чем планировалось, поэтому времени для того, чтобы взобраться на гору, у нас практически не оставалось. Решив, что горы не терпят суеты и торопливости, и совсем уже не любят передвижений по себе в темное время суток, мы, найдя подходящее место, начали ставить лагерь.

Поставив палатку на небольшой площадке, с которой было уже рукой подать до горы Улытау, и откуда открывался прекрасный вид на долину, мы встретили ту теплую августовскую ночь, сидя у костра и запивая впечатления от общения с природой красным вином из большой кожаной фляжки.

[0] [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16]


©ОО ИГО 'АВАЛОН', 2005-2017
Перепечатка материала - только с указанием источника